Soil and Cellar

Growing and preserving foods in Seattle

Carrot Coriander Relish

2 Comments

Here's the relish I made last year.

I’m finally posting about this relish I made last year. This is last year’s photo, but the rest of the post is from this week.

A few weeks ago I was talking to a coworker about my blog, and she asked about the orange thing in the middle of my banner photo. When I told her it was carrot relish, she wanted to read the post. Well, as it happens, I never wrote about it! It was one of my projects from early last year, before the blog. When piecing together my colorful banner photo, I had to find foods I had made and photographed, which if you can believe, wasn’t common for me back then. Oh, how times have changed.

Annabeth is a great helper in the kitchen. Here she is ensuring that I can't read the recipe. Later she stole carrots from the compost and chased them all over the house, finally eating them. This recipe is fun for the whole family!

Annabeth is a great helper in the kitchen. Here she is ensuring that I can’t read the recipe. Later she stole carrots from the compost and chased them all over the house, finally eating them. This recipe is fun for the whole family!

Anyway, I knew I had to remake this relish, because it is delicious, flavorful, and bright. It’s a great alternative to pickle relish, and goes fabulously on burgers, hotdogs, and all manner of sandwiches. It’s also a little spicy, but not too much (you could certainly add more chili to amp up the heat). This weekend (Happy Memorial Day to all!) marked our first BBQ of the season, so it was the perfect time to bust out this great recipe.

I julienned the carrots on the mandoline. I think next time I'll shred them in the food processor - this took a really long time.

I julienned the carrots on the mandoline. I think next time I’ll shred them in the food processor – this took a really long time.

I got the recipe from Salt Sugar Smoke, still one of my favorite books on food preservation. This time I didn’t toast coriander seeds and grind them, opting for pre-ground coriander. I recommend doing as the recipe suggests, the coriander flavor stood out more last year. Also, this time I subbed a jalapeño for “red chili” because I don’t know what she meant by “red chili.” Looking back, I think a dried red chili is probably a better fit. But I do like the jalapeño, so you do you and I’ll do me.

Just put everything in the pot all together. I love recipes like that!

Just put everything in the pot all together. I love recipes like that!

Recipe (makes about a pint)

8 carrots, cleaned, and shredded (or julienned)
1 ½ inch piece of ginger root, peeled and minced
8 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 Tbsp coriander seeds, toasted and crushed
zest and juice of 1 lime
¼ cup apple juice
2/3 cup apple cider vinegar
¾ cup firmly packed brown sugar
pinch or two of salt
¼ cup cilantro leaves, chopped (optional) – I have never included this, but I think it would taste great, but would probably really change the flavor.

After cooking, but not cooked all the way down (there's still a lot of liquid.) When it's done it'll be drier.

After cooking, but not cooked all the way down (there’s still a lot of liquid.) When it’s done it’ll be almost totally dry.

Mix everything except cilantro together in a pot. Stir and bring to a boil slowly over medium-high heat. Once boiling, reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 10 minutes. Then increase to medium heat for 15 minutes, stirring frequently. You want the liquid to reduce and cook off. The carrots should be soft but not mushy, and appear candied from the liquid.

The relish on a (veggie) sausage. Fantastic! This is dog is also a "Seattle dog" which is with cream cheese and caramelized onions. I urge you to try that, it's ridiculous. So freaking delish - and adding this relish really worked!

Messy, but so tasty – carrot relish on a (veggie) sausage. This dog is also a “Seattle dog” which is with cream cheese and caramelized onions. I urge you to try that, it’s ridiculous. So freaking delish – and adding this relish really worked! Just noticed, “delish” and “relish” are one letter apart… coincidence?

Remove from heat and pack into a warm sterilized jar. Store in the fridge for up to 3 months (if it lasts that long!). If you’re using cilantro, either add just before using or mix it in the jars with the relish. If you do the latter, you need to use it up within 5 days.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Carrot Coriander Relish

  1. Awesome! Love the smell and taste of fresh coriander seeds, bet this tastes so good.

Leave a Reply

