Soil and Cellar

Growing and preserving foods in Seattle

Ramps for Breakfast

1 Comment

Spring veggies on display at Pike Place Market.

Spring veggies on display at Pike Place Market.

I have heard a lot about ramps in the last few years. These wild oniony garlicky beasts are darlings of chefs around the country. But I don’t feel like they grow wild here like they do out east. If they do, I’ve never heard of it, anyway. But after hearing so much about them and their mellow garlicky flavor, I wanted to try them! I think of them like this: Leeks are to onions as ramps are to garlic. Or something. Anyway, alliums are the best, and they are all welcome in my home!

Ramps washed and ready to cut.

Ramps washed and ready to cut.

My SIL and BIL were in town for a short weekend visit, and they’d never done the Pike Place Market. Now, Pike Place is one of the few tourist attractions that even Seattlites enjoy. And why not? We’re all about local fresh foods. We planning on wandering through the market and window shopping, but it’s hardly ever that simple. We ended up with some beautiful purple asparagus, ramps, some dried strawberries (yum!) pastries, yogurt, and salami.

Chopping. I love the rainbow effect on the stems! And you can see the purple asparagus in the background.

Chopping. I love the rainbow effect on the stems! And you can see the purple asparagus in the background.

Never having cooked ramps, I went with the standard for fresh veg – lightly sautéed and then scrambled with eggs. Throw a little cheese on top, and even the blandest veg are made super! Start with delicious veggies, and holy smokes, what could be better?

I sauteed the stems with the asparagus for a minute or two first, before adding the leaves. Then I wilted the leaves just so before adding the eggs.

I sauteed the stems with the asparagus for a minute or two first, before adding the leaves. Then I wilted the leaves just so before adding the eggs.

To top things off (because I like to pretend I run a B&B when I have house guests) I made popovers, which we ate with homemade jam (of course.) Voila! A perfect spring breakfast.

Now, don't you want to come visit?

Now, don’t you want to come visit?

Now that I’ve sampled them, next year I’ll look for ramps again. Any ideas how I should prepare them?

One thought on “Ramps for Breakfast

  1. One of my favorite chefs here has some glorious ways of preparing them – including roasting & my favorite, pesto.

Leave a Reply

