Soil and Cellar

Growing and preserving foods in Seattle

Popovers – the best way to eat jam!

4 Comments

Popovers, ready to eat! The left has peach with cardamom jam, and the right has strawberry jam.

Popovers, ready to eat! The left has peach – cardamom jam, and the right has strawberry jam.

I’ve made a lot of jam this year. I mean, a lot a lot. Combine my obsession with learning to can, love of making jam, trying to use seasonal fruits… I have basically infinite jam in my basement right now. I will be giving a lot out as holiday gifts (hi everyone!), but D and I will be eating much of it ourselves.

I try to find fun ways to use jam, like in baked goods, or with cheese at parties. But mostly, I eat it the way God intended – on toast.

But the best way of all to eat jam is on popovers. I make popovers every few months. They’re for special occasions, like Sunday morning football, or when you have houseguests. It’s not a hard recipe, not by any stretch, but if we each ate 6 popovers a weekend, well. That’s just not healthy. And they don’t keep, so you have to be ready to eat them all the same morning.

Popovers, just put in the oven.

Popovers, just put in the oven. Wait till you see what comes next!

Popovers (and their brothers in another world, Yorkshire pudding), are the coolest thing you’ll ever bake. Their name is apt, they puff up so much they pop over the sides of the pan! They’re terribly fun to watch grow in the oven, but the best part is eating them. Buttery, eggy, crispy, light and fluffy.  Add a little jam, and you’ve got yourself an amazing breakfast treat.

I’ve played around with different recipes and different pans for years. I even bought a special popover pan from Williams Sonoma. That pan failed me, but it did give me a recipe that I like.

Here they are at the time I turn the temp down, a little more than half done.

Here they are at the time I turn the temp down, a little more than half done.

Popovers (adapted from the one that came on my popover pan)

Makes 12 popovers. This recipe can easily be doubled if you have more people to feed.

2 Tbsp salted butter, melted
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup milk
1 cup AP flour
½ tsp salt
Cooking spray with flour in it*

Preheat oven to 450 F.

Spray muffin tin with cooking spray that contains flour (I use Pam Baking).

*This step is really important, as otherwise the popovers stick in the tin, and you kind of ruin them getting them out. Even regular cooking spray and butter were trouble for me. It’s the only thing I use this type of Pam for, but it’s worth it. I gave up on popovers for two years before I learned this trick from Nadine (a friend, who also blogs at Delicious Nadine), and she was right!

Add a couple drops of melted butter to each muffin cup, as well.

And here they are, all ready to eat! You can almost feel the crispiness, can't you!

And here they are, all ready to eat! You can almost feel the crispiness, can’t you?

Whisk together milk and eggs. Mix in remaining melted butter (about 1 Tbsp). Add flour and salt, and whisk together until smooth, about 2 minutes.

Pour the batter into the muffin cups, filling each one about 2/3 full.

Cook at 450 for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 325, and cook for 8 more minutes.

Remove from muffin tin onto a cooling rack or plate. Eat as soon as possible, they deflate by the minute as they cool. They are still delicious deflated, but it’s fun to tear them apart while they are light and fluffy.

Resting on the rack. We have to take turns choosing, because some come out fluffier than others :)

Resting on the rack. We have to take turns choosing, because some come out fluffier than others 🙂

Serve with jam, and enjoy!

I just told D that I was writing this post. Then on what I thought was another track, asked what he’d like for Sunday’s breakfast. He said, shockingly, “popovers!” so I’ll be making them this weekend. And to go with it, the jams that are currently open are the peach-cardamom jam that my friend made, strawberry jam that I made, and some pomegranate-raspberry I made with the Preservation Society the other day (post coming soon.) Yay!

4 thoughts on “Popovers – the best way to eat jam!

  1. Hi Cindy……….thrilled to receive the first of what I hope will be many, many blogs. One of us need to move so that we can live closer to each other as I need your personal motivation!
    Love you !

  2. I love popovers!! so yummy! I love mine with peanut butter! will have to add jam next time for sure!

Leave a Reply

